Rotorua

19756396_10158983309470506_2149441861746636984_n

All I can say is I wish I had more time to spend here, there is so much to do and see and I missed so much by only spending a day thereI I really wanted to go zorbing and to the waiotapu thermal park but I just didn’t have the time sadly.
However, the things that I did do I really enjoyed and wouldn’t swap so its safe to say there are a lot of good and interesting things here. As most people got dropped off at Hobbiton on the way here (I’ve already done this) the remaining few of us got dropped off in the city centre for 3 hours to do as we pleased, this is the time I wanted to go zorbing but to get there and back and have some rides i wouldn’t have had the time. Instead, I had a wander down to kuirau park, a free park where there is lots of geothermal activity going on so basically lots of hot pools, steam and mud pools, I really enjoyed it, the best bit, its free. after finishing it was time to get back on the bus and head to and overnight stay at a Mauri village  (re-created village) here we got to learn so much about the culture and the Mauri people. You can do the dinner and show on its own but some of us opted for the full overnight package this costs $189 it does sound a lot but it is well worth it.

PicMonkey Collagehh
You really do get your money worth with afternoon tea and cake all you can eat, beautiful rooms, lots of inside know how and games, all you can eat dinner with pudding, hot tubs once all the visitors had gone and all you can eat breakfast the next day.

The next day before we headed off we went to Te Pua a geothermal place with geysers and hots springs, you pay $35 for a 2 hour guided tour and get a free egg cooked in a hot spring to eat, I don’t eat eggs but it was pretty cool and I did eat one just to say I’ve eaten something cooked in a hot spring. once the tour is finished you have free time to walk back around at your leisure and you get to see a real kiwi bird that they have there too. If You go you must sit on the hot seats, it looks like normal concrete/ brick made floor seating but when you sit down it’s like your sitting on a radiator!

Must Do: Overnight Mauri Village
Tip’s: Spend at least 3 nights there and get to do everything you can
Camera: Olympus Pen & iPhone

signature

Leave a Reply

